A day in the life…

Hard at work in my home office

As an independent missions consultant, I get to work with amazing people from all over the world who want to serve Christ and those He loves.  It’s a great job…but I’m sure it’s not always entirely clear what I do!   Here are some of those things.

Identifying and creating strategic ministry opportunities is one of my passions.  I do lots of research to “connect the dots” between different places, people, and even different disciplines (law, business, medicine) which can come together under Christ to set women and men in prostitution and victims of human trafficking free!  I spend much of my time helping individuals, churches, missions agencies and national Evangelical Alliances to understand the issues and opportunities, and decide how to become engaged.

My work is generally split between office time and travel time, with some hands-on ministry thrown in.  On an office day, I am typically on the computer creating strategy proposals for new areas of outreach, and connecting people interested in this type of ministry to opportunities, resources, and each other.   I handle requests from foundations, missions, organizations, individuals, researchers, filmmakers…pretty much anyone you can imagine.  An office day may also include skype calls – from Peru, Estonia, India, or Kazakhstan.  (And sometimes the USA.)     Today I’m drafting my prayer letter, a task that sounds easy but which I find really tough.

I travel regularly, with one to three trips a month to visit trafficking hotspots and partner organizations.  Conferences and other meetings can be a great tool for awareness, training, and networking, and I often serve the church by helping to coordinate and train in these settings.  I also travel to assess where an individual, group or country is in preparation for ministry, both practically and theologically.  I try to match strengths and resources with needs and gaps, and assist in thinking through next steps.  While I also consult with existing teams, I have a passion for encouraging new things to happen!

This certainly isn’t everything, but it does give you an idea of the tasks and travels which fill my days.     Thank you for enabling me to serve!

~ by Jennifer Roemhildt Tunehag on April 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “A day in the life…”

  1. So you do have a picture… did I inspire you?? 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for the info. You were right – I did wonder what you were up to!! You are in my prayers

Leave a comment